Patagonian Sea Lions

Theme area:  Sea Lion Rock
Scientific name:  Otaria byronia
Class:  Mammals
Order:   Carnivores
Suborder:   Pinnipeds
Family:   Otariidae
Continent:  South America
Habitat:  Coastal marine habitats and rockeries
Diet:  Piscivore
Weight:  130 - 350 kg
Size:  1.5 - 2.6 m
altphoto
Covid Info
European Ex-situ Programme (EEP)

European Ex-situ Programme (EEP)

As is often the case with sea lions, this species exhibits marked sexual dimorphism.  Males bear a mane which is what earned them their common name, "sea lion".

 

FEATURES

As is often the case with sea lions, this species exhibits marked sexual dimorphism.   Males can reach up to 2.6 m in length and weigh between 300 and 350 kg. They have a large mane from which they get their name.  They reach sexual maturity between 4 and 7 years of age, but will not be able to defend their harem until they are 9-11 years old. Females can reach up to 1.5 to 2 m in length and weigh 130 to 170 kg.  They are sexually mature between 4 and 5 years of age.  At birth, the pup weighs between 10 and 15 kg and is 75 to 85 cm long. Lifespan is estimated at 20 years.

 

DISTRIBUTION

The Patagonian sea lion is found along much of the coast of South America. Its range extends down from northern Peru to Cape Horn and up the east coast to southern Brazil.

 

HABITAT

It mainly lives in coastal areas and the continental shelf.  It rarely ventures into deeper waters.

  

ECOLOGY AND BEHAVIOUR

This species is rather sedentary and polygamous; the harem is generally made up of one male for every 4 to 10 females.  The male arrives on the beach about two weeks before the females.  He defends his territory in two different ways depending on the topography of the place.  If the beach has corners, the male will block the exit of females or the entrance of competitors with vocalisations, postures and battles.  Alternatively, if the beach is a long strip of land/sand, the male's strategy is to keep the females away from the water by pacing the area between the ocean and the beach.  Two to three days after their arrival, the females give birth to the young they have carried for a year.  Six days after giving birth, they ovulate and mate again.  Then, they start alternating 1 to 4 days at sea for hunting, with 2 days on land for nursing, until the pup is between 8 and 10 months.

 

FOOD

The Patagonian sea lion is an opportunistic hunter.  It consumes a wide variety of fish depending on the area where it lives.  A large male may also feed on young elephant seals or young South American fur seals (a smaller species than the maned sea lion).

 

PREDATORS

Killer whales, sharks and leopard seals.

 

THREATS

Following several hundred years of hunting by humans for its fur and oil, the Patagonian sea lion population has greatly diminished. Nowadays, voluntary culls by fishermen, or accidental entanglement in trawler nets, continue to greatly reduce the numbers, especially around the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) where intensive fishing is practiced.

 

WHAT CAN WE DO?

Promote eco-responsible fishing.

  

Conservation
Extinct
Extinct in the wild
Critically endangered
Endangered
Vulnerable
Near threatened
Least concern
Insufficient data
Not evaluated

DID YOU KNOW?

Between February and March each year, the Valdes Peninsula in Argentina is the scene of some impressive hunting displays. Patagonian sea lion pups gather in a nursery while their mothers are out hunting at sea.

Cumplimos con todas las medidas contra el Covid-19. Consulta nuestro plan completo para que, entre todos, hagamos del parque un lugar seguro. Ver detalles

Otarie de Patagonie

Zone thématique:  Rocher des otaries
Nom scientifique:  Otaria byronia
Classe:  Mammifères
Continent:  Amérique du Sud
Habitat:  Habitats marins côtiers et rockeries
Alimentation:  Piscivore
Poids:  130 - 350 kg
Taille:  1.5 - 2.6 m
altphoto
European Ex-situ Program (EEP)

European Ex-situ Program (EEP)

L’espèce, comme souvent chez les otaries, montre un dimorphisme sexuel marqué.  Les mâles arborent une crinière ce qui leur vaut leur nom commun « lion des mer ».

 

CARACTÉRISTIQUES

L’espèce, comme souvent chez les otaries, montre un dimorphisme sexuel marqué.  Le mâle peut atteindre 2.6m et peser entre 300 et 350kg. Il arbore une crinière importante d’où il tire son nom en français.  Il atteint sa maturité sexuelle entre 4 et 7 ans mais ne sera réellement capable de défendre son harem que vers 9-11 ans.  La femelle peut atteindre 1.5 à 2m de long pour 130 à 170kg.  Elle  est sexuellement mature entre 4 et 5 ans.  A la naissance, le petit pèse entre 10 et 15kg pour une longueur de 75 à 85 cm. La longévité est estimée à 20 ans.

 

DISTRIBUTION

L’otarie de Patagonie se rencontre sur une grande partie des côtes de l’Amérique du Sud. Son aire de répartition descend du nord du Pérou jusqu’au Cap Horn et remonte sur la côte Est jusqu’au sud du Brésil.

 

HABITAT

Elle exploite principalement les zones côtières et le plateau continental.  Il lui arrive rarement de s’aventurer vers des eaux plus profondes.

ECOLOGIE ET COMPORTEMENT

Cette espèce est plutôt sédentaire et polygame.  Le harem est généralement constitué d’un mâle pour 4 à 10 femelles.  Celui-ci arrive sur la plage à peu près deux semaines avant les femelles.  Il défend son territoire de deux manières différentes en fonction de la topographie du lieu.  Soit la plage présente des recoins et le mâle bloquera la sortie des femelles ou l’entrée des concurrents grâce à des vocalises, des postures et des batailles.  Soit la plage est une longue bande de terre/sable et la stratégie du mâle consistera plutôt alors à maintenir les femelles éloignées de l’eau en arpentant de long en large la zone entre l’océan et la plage.  Deux-trois jours après leur arrivée, les femelles mettent bas le petit qu’elles ont porté pendant une année.  Six jours après la mise-bas, elles ovulent et s’accouplent à nouveau.  Ensuite, elles commencent à alterner 1 à 4 jours en mer pour la chasse, avec 2 jours à terre pour l’allaitement, et cela jusqu’à ce que le petit ait entre 8 et 10 mois.

 

ALIMENTATION

L’otarie de Patagonie est un animal opportuniste.  Elle consomme une large variété de poissons en fonction de la zone où elle vit.  Un grand mâle peut aussi se nourrir de jeunes éléphants de mer ou de jeunes otaries à fourrure d’Amérique du Sud (espèce plus petite que l’otarie à crinière).

 

PRÉDATEURS

Orques, requins, phoques léopard

 

MENACES

Suite à plusieurs centaines d’année d’exploitation par l’homme de sa fourrure et de son huile, la population d’otarie de Patagonie a grandement diminué. De nos jours, des abattages volontaires par les pêcheurs, ou des prises accidentelles dans les filets de chalutier , continuent de réduire fortement le nombre d’individus surtout autour des îles Falkland (Malouines) où une pêche intensive est pratiquée.

 

QUE POUVONS-NOUS FAIRE ?

Favoriser une pêche écoresponsable.

REPRÉSENTATIONS OU RENCONTRES

Préservation
Éteinte
Éteint à l'état sauvage
Danger critique
En danger
Vulnérable
Quasi menacée
Préoccupation mineure
Données insuffisantes
Non classé

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

Chaque année, entre février et mars, la péninsule Valdès en Argentine est le théâtre de scènes de chasse impressionnantes. Les petits des otaries de Patagonie se réunissent en crèche lorsque leurs mères partent chasser en mer.
Mesures sanitaires. Visitez Marineland en toute sécurité.

Mesures sanitaires. Visitez Marineland en toute sécurité.

Billet adulte / jour

24,90 €