Cumplimos con todas las medidas contra el Covid-19. Consulta nuestro plan completo para que, entre todos, hagamos del parque un lugar seguro. Ver detalles

European Ex-situ Programme (EEP)

A European program to preserve biodiversity

Due to the loss of biodiversity, European zoological institutions accredited by EAZA (European Association for Zoos and Aquariums) have developed a population management program for animal species in order to remedy the disappearance of many. This program, called EEP, seeks to preserve healthy populations and healthy individuals for more than 400 different species in a zoological environment.

Reproduction in zoos is regulated and rigorously monitored thanks to genetic studies and the cooperation of more than 300 structures involved. Some 400 species in EEP are the subject of recommendations concerning husbandry and breeding conditions. This conservation program ensures animal welfare and the maintenance of the genetic diversity of populations over the long term, through coordinated exchanges of individuals between zoological structures. More and more EEP are working in the field to reconcile so-called in situ (in the natural environment) and ex situ (in the zoological environment) conservation, both of which have the same objective: the preservation of biodiversity.

Each EEP is led by a coordinator assisted by a committee of experts. This coordinator is a specialist in the species concerned and himself works in an EAZA zoo or aquarium. This coordinator has different missions: to collect information on the specimens of the species, to carry out demographic and genetic analyzes in order to develop a program for the future management of the species within the framework of a Long-term Management Plan. Following this work of data collection and analysis, the coordinator, in collaboration with the committee of experts, makes recommendations for transfers between zoos and/or reproduction and initiates scientific studies.

The EEP and ESB at Marineland

A genealogical register of species or European studbook (European StudBook ESB) constitutes European program of conservation for the threatened species, but is less intensive than a program EEP.  Marineland is one of the few zoological institutions in the world to successfully breed emblematic and threatened species such as sandbar sharks, loggerhead seaturtles and several species of tropical fish. 6 species present at Marineland are part of an EEP and 6 are part of an ESB, some of which are classified on the red list of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

Species present at Marineland part of an EAZA Ex-situ program (EEP) :

  • Southern rockhopper penguin (Eudyptes chrysocome) - IUCN status: Vulnerable (VU)
  • Humboldt penguin (Spheniscus humboldti) - IUCN Status : Vulnerable (VU)
  • King penguin (Aptednodytes patagonica) - IUCN Status : Least Concern (LC)
  • Bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops truncatus) - IUCN Status : Least Concern (LC)
  • California sea lion (Zalophus californianus) - IUCN Status : Least Concern (LC)
  • South American  sea lion (Otaria byronia) - IUCN Status : Least Concern (LC)

Species present at Marineland part of a European Studbook (ESB):

  • Sandbar shark (Carcharhinus plumbeus) - IUCN Status : Vulnerable (VU)
  • Harbour seal (Phoca vitulina) - IUCN Status : Least Concern (LC)
  • Steller sea lion (Eumetopias jubatus) : - IUCN Status: Near Threatened (NT)
  • Zebra shark (Stegostoma fasciatum) - IUCN Status : Endangered (EN)
  • Bluespotted ribbontail ray (Taeniura lymma) - IUCN Status : Least Concern (LC)
  • Lemur (Lemur catta) - IUCN Status: Endangered (EN)

The IUCN red list

Created in 1964, the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Red List of Threatened Species is the world's most comprehensive source of information on the risk of extinction of animal and plant species.

In the latest edition of the Red List (version 2021.3), out of 142,577 species studied, 40,084 are classified as threatened and France is among the 10 countries hosting the highest number of threatened species.

Online ticket from

€24,90

Cumplimos con todas las medidas contra el Covid-19. Consulta nuestro plan completo para que, entre todos, hagamos del parque un lugar seguro. Ver detalles

EAZA Ex-situ Programme (EEP)

Un programme européen pour préserver la biodiversité

Compte tenu des menaces croissantes sur la biodiversité et la disparition de nombreux animaux, les institutions zoologiques modernes ont considéré qu’il fallait protéger et conserver certaines espèces afin de pouvoir les réintroduire dans le milieu naturel si elles venaient à disparaître.

L’EAZA, la plus grande association professionnelle européenne en matière de zoos a mis en place un programme, appelé « EEP » (Eaza Ex-situ Programme), destiné à la conservation d’espèces animales sauvages. La reproduction en parc zoologique est réglementée et suivie grâce à des études génétiques approfondies et une coopération entre les plus de 300 structures impliquées. Les quelques 400 espèces en EEP font l’objet de recommandations concernant les conditions d’hébergement et les conditions de reproduction. L’objectif est de veiller au bien-être animal et de maintenir au maximum la diversité génétique des populations sur le long terme, par le biais d’échanges coordonnés d’individus entre les structures zoologiques. De plus en plus d’EEP travaillent sur le terrain afin de concilier la conservation dite in situ (en milieu naturel) et ex situ (en milieu zoologique), qui visent toutes deux un même objectif : la préservation de la biodiversité. 

Chaque EEP est dirigé par un coordinateur aidé par un comité d’experts. Ce coordinateur est un spécialiste de l’espèce concernée et travaille lui-même dans un zoo ou un aquarium de l'EAZA. Ce coordinateur a de nombreuses missions : collecter des informations sur les spécimens de l’espèce, réaliser des analyses démographiques et génétiques afin d’élaborer un programme pour la gestion future de l’espèce dans le cadre d’un Plan de gestion à long terme (PGLT). Suite à ces analyses, le coordinateur, en collaboration avec le comité, propose des recommandations de transferts entre zoos et/ou de reproduction et initie des études scientifiques. 

Les EEP et ESB au zoo marin Marineland

Un registre généalogique d’espèces ou studbook européen (European StudBook ESB en anglais) constitue programme européen de conservation pour les espèces menacées, mais moins intensif qu'un programme EEP.  Marineland est l’une des rares institutions zoologiques au monde à maîtriser la reproduction d’espèces emblématiques et menacées telles que les requins gris, les tortues Caouanne et plusieurs espèces de poissons tropicaux. 6 espèces présentes à Marineland font partie d’un EEP et 6 sont en ESB, dont certaines sont classées sur la liste rouge de l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN).

Espèces présentes à Marineland faisant partie d’un EAZA Ex-situ program (EEP) :

  • Manchot Gorfou sauteur (Eudyptes chrysocome) – Statut UICN : Vulnérable (VU)

  • Manchot de Humboldt (Spheniscus humboldti) – Statut UICN : Vulnérable (VU)

  • Manchot Royal (Aptednodytes patagonica) - Statut UICN : Préoccupation mineure (LC)

  • Grand dauphin (Tursiops truncatus) – Statut UICN : Préoccupation mineure (LC)

  • Otarie de Californie (Zalophus californianus) – Statut UICN : Préoccupation mineure (LC)

  • Otarie de Patagonie (Otaria byronia) – Statut UICN : Préoccupation mineure (LC)

Espèces présentes à Marineland faisant partie d’un Studbook européen (ESB) :

  • Requin gris (Carcharhinus plumbeus) – Statut UICN : Vulnérable (VU) 

  • Phoque commun (Phoca vitulina) - Statut UICN : Préoccupation mineure (LC)

  • Otarie de Steller (Eumetopias jubatus) : – Statut UICN : Quasi menacée (NT)

  • Requin Zèbre (Stegostoma fasciatum) – Statut UICN : En danger (EN)

  • Raie à points bleus (Taeniura lymma) - Statut UICN : Préoccupation mineure (LC)

  • Lémurien (Lemur catta) – Statut UICN : En danger (EN)

La liste rouge de l’UICN

Créée en 1964, la liste rouge des espèces menacées de l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) est la source d'information la plus complète au monde sur le risque d'extinction des espèces animales et végétales.

Dans la dernière édition de la Liste rouge (version 2021.3), sur les 142 577 espèces étudiées, 40 084 sont classées comme menacées et la France figure parmi les 10 pays hébergeant le plus grand nombre d’espèces menacées.

Plus d’information (en anglais) sur les EAZA Ex situ programmes 

Billet adulte / jour

24,90 €