Cumplimos con todas las medidas contra el Covid-19. Consulta nuestro plan completo para que, entre todos, hagamos del parque un lugar seguro. Ver detalles

Obstortuemed

There are seven species of sea turtles in the world, 3 of which are regularly found in the western Mediterranean: the Loggerhead turtle (Caretta caretta), the Leatherback turtle (Dermochelys coriacea) and the Green turtle (Chelonia mydas).
Sea turtles are migratory. They roam the seas and oceans in search of feeding, breeding and spawning grounds. The diversity of habitats they cross only increases the risks and threats they face.
Since 2012, the Marineland Association has been running the ObsTortueMed conservation programme: Observation of Sea Turtles in the Mediterranean. Apart from monitoring populations at sea off the Alpes-Maritimes and Var, ObsTortueMed improves our understanding of the changing population structure and identifies the threats specific to a region particularly impacted by human activity.

Through its ObsTortueMed programme, the Marineland Association is involved with the French Herpetological Society and its national stranding network (R.T.M.M.F–Réseau Tortues Marines de Méditerranée Française), in the sea turtle monitoring programme coordinated by the French Office for Biodiversity.
ObsTortueMed has three components:

The "observation at sea" component

This component is an observation campaign based on the principle of "participatory or citizen science". Its objective is to establish the state of sea turtle populations off the coast of the Alpes-Maritimes and the Var. Between 45 and 140 observation reports have been compiled each year since 2012, documenting the presence, abundance and geographical distribution of the three species along our coasts. Two aerial flyover campaigns, conducted by the Association in 2015 and 2017, further enhanced the observation process.

The "Stranded Dead Turtle" component

The Marineland Association handles autopsies of dead turtles found off or on the coasts of the Alpes-Maritimes and the Var. This activity allows us to identify more precisely the causes of death and the threats to these protected species. As part of the scientific programme of the Sea Turtle Observatory of Metropolitan France and Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon (OTM), biological samples (in particular blood and skin) and an analysis of the digestive contents of sea turtles are systematically taken in order to enrich the databases and enhance scientific studies. These samples, as well as the data collected by the Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre (C.R.F.S.) to evaluate the health status of animals in their care or during monitoring of sea turtles at sea, are also used in the monitoring programme of the Marine Strategy Framework Directive (MSFD) as well as the European INDICIT programme.

 

The "Response to Turtles in Difficulty" component at the C.R.F.S.

Located at the tip of the Cap d'Antibes, in the bay of Juan les Pins, on a site belonging to the Conservatoire du Littoral, the Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre (Centre de Réhabilitation de la Faune Sauvage–C.R.F.S.) is a "hospital" dedicated to sea turtles that have been stranded or found in difficulty off the coasts of the Alpes-Maritimes and the Var. With its three individual 1000 litre tanks and 17 m3 main pool, its has the capacity to care for 5 sea turtles.

The Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre (C.R.F.S.) opened its doors in July 2017. It is managed and financed by the Marineland Association and benefits from Marineland's specialised personnel (staff and vets). Turtles in difficulty are welcomed and cared for there until their release back into their natural environment.

 

    

Online ticket from

€24,90

Cumplimos con todas las medidas contra el Covid-19. Consulta nuestro plan completo para que, entre todos, hagamos del parque un lugar seguro. Ver detalles

Obstortuemed

Il existe sept espèces de tortues marines dans le monde dont 3 évoluent régulièrement en Méditerranée occidentale : la tortue Caouanne (Caretta caretta), la tortue Luth (Dermochelys coriacea) et la tortue Verte (Chelonia mydas).
Les tortues marines sont migratrices. Elles parcourent les mers et les océans à la recherche de zones d’alimentation, de reproduction et de ponte. Cette diversité d’habitats qu’elles traversent ne fait qu’augmenter les risques et les menaces qui pèsent sur elles.
Depuis 2012, l’association Marineland mène le programme de conservation ObsTortueMed, Observation des Tortues Marines en Méditerranée. Au-delà d’un programme de surveillance sur le suivi des populations en mer au large des Alpes-Maritimes et du Var, ObsTortueMed permet d’améliorer les connaissances sur l’évolution de la structure des populations et sur l’identification des menaces propres à une région particulièrement impactée par l’activité humaine.

Au travers de son programme ObsTortueMed, l’Association Marineland s’est engagée auprès de la Société Herpétologique de France et de son réseau national échouage (R.T.M.M.F, Réseau Tortues Marines de Méditerranée Française), dans le programme de surveillance des tortues marines coordonné par l’Office Français pour le Biodiversité.
ObsTortueMed se décline en trois volets :

Le volet « observation en mer »

Ce volet est une campagne d’observation basée sur le principe de science dite participative ou citoyenne. Son objectif est de définir l’état des populations de tortues marines au large des Alpes-Maritimes et du Var. Ce sont entre 45 et 140 observations, compilées chaque année depuis 2012, qui permettent de documenter la présence, l’abondance et la répartition géographique des trois espèces devant nos côtes. Deux campagnes de survol aérien, menées par l’association en 2015 et 2017, sont venues renforcer l’effort d’observation.

Le volet « Echouage des Tortues Mortes »

L’Association Marineland prend en charge les autopsies des tortues mortes retrouvées au large ou sur les côtes des Alpes-Maritimes et du Var. Cette action permet d’identifier de manière plus précise les causes de la mort et les menaces qui pèsent sur ces espèces protégées. Dans le cadre du programme scientifique de l’Observatoire des Tortues Marines de France Métropolitaine et de Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon (OTM), des prélèvements d’échantillons biologiques (sang, peau notamment) et une analyse des contenus digestifs des tortues marines sont systématiquement réalisés afin d’enrichir les bases de données et participer à des études scientifiques. Ces prélèvements ainsi que les données collectées par le Centre de Réhabilitation de la Faune Sauvage (C.R.F.S.) pour évaluer l’état de santé des animaux en soins ou encore lors des suivis de tortues marines en mer, renseignent le programme de surveillance de la Directive Cadre Stratégie pour le Milieu Marin (DCSMM) ainsi que le programme européen INDICIT.

 

Le volet « intervention sur les individus en difficulté » au C.R.F.S

Situé à la pointe du cap d’Antibes, dans la baie de Juan les Pins, sur un site du conservatoire du Littoral, le Centre de Réhabilitation de la Faune Sauvage (C.R.F.S.) est un « hôpital » dédié aux tortues marines échouées ou trouvées en difficulté au large des côtes des Alpes-Maritimes et du Var. Avec ses trois cuves individuelles de 1000 litres et son bassin principal de 17 m3, sa capacité d’accueil est de 5 tortues marines.

Le Centre de Réhabilitation de la Faune Sauvage (C.R.F.S.) a ouvert ses portes en juillet 2017. Il est géré et financé par l’Association Marineland qui bénéficie du personnel spécialisé (capacitaire et vétérinaires) de Marineland. Les tortues en difficulté y sont accueillies et soignées jusqu’à leur relâcher dans le milieu naturel.

 

    

Billet adulte / jour

24,90 €