Cumplimos con todas las medidas contra el Covid-19. Consulta nuestro plan completo para que, entre todos, hagamos del parque un lugar seguro. Ver detalles

Naturascan, a mission to assess the presence and distribution of marine megafauna

There are seven species of sea turtles in the world, three of which regularly evolve in the western Mediterranean: the Loggerhead turtle (Caretta caretta), the Leatherback turtle (Dermochelys coriacea) and the Green turtle (Chelonia mydas).
Sea turtles are migratory. They roam the seas and oceans in search of feeding, breeding and egg-laying areas. This diversity of habitats that they cross only increases the risks and threats that weigh on them.
Since 2012, the Marineland association has been leading the ObsTortueMed conservation program, Observation of Marine Turtles in the Mediterranean. Beyond a surveillance program on the monitoring of populations at sea off the Alpes-Maritimes and the Var, ObsTortueMed improves knowledge on the evolution of the structure of populations and on the identification of specific threats. to a region particularly impacted by human activity.

Naturascan's mission is to assess the presence and distribution of marine megafauna within the Natura 2000 site "Baie et Cap d'Antibes-Iles de Lérins baie". One of the characteristics of this site is to shelter in its offshore extension, canyons reaching more than 1500 meters in depth, conducive to the presence of marine mammals.

Since January 2020, the Marineland Association, the city of Antibes and the Aquanautes have been committed to bringing this monitoring program to life. Every month, three observers, a rapporteur and a pilot embark on the Haizea, the zodiac of the Marineland Association. 50 km of linear transects, a study area of ​​72.5 km2, are covered and observations are carried out according to a precise protocol, at a slow speed of 6 knots.

All observations are scrupulously recorded: in 2020, 15% of observations concern striped dolphins (Stenella coeruleoalba) and sunfish (Mola mola) respectively, 44% of observations concern birds, the boreal shearwater (Calonectris borealis), Scopoli's shearwater (Calonectris diomedea), common tern (Sterna hirundo), sandwich tern (Thalasseus sandvicensis), gull (Larus michahellis), northern gannet (Morus bassanus), greater flamingo (Phoenicopterus roseus), sporadically gelatinous organisms (Velella velella) and the most remarkable observation remains that of this female sperm whale and her calf (Physeter macrocephalus).

Through its monitoring program, Naturascan observation data will enrich the studies carried out within the framework of the Marine Strategy Framework Directive (MSFD) coordinated by the OFB.

In 2020, nine outings were carried out, representing more than 300 km of prospecting effort, i.e. more than 400 km2 "scanned" with a result of 41 observations.

The Naturascan program is renewed in 2021. The group of volunteer observers is growing and nearly thirty people are involved in this monitoring. The training of observers is ensured. The prospecting area is also expanding to include the Lérins Islands area. Two areas, two prospecting protocols, two separate outings. It is thus almost the entire Natura 2000 area that is surveyed each month (target set).

Online ticket from

€24,90

Cumplimos con todas las medidas contra el Covid-19. Consulta nuestro plan completo para que, entre todos, hagamos del parque un lugar seguro. Ver detalles

Naturascan, une mission d’évaluation de la présence et la répartition de la mégafaune marine

Il existe sept espèces de tortues marines dans le monde dont 3 évoluent régulièrement en Méditerranée occidentale : la tortue Caouanne (Caretta caretta), la tortue Luth (Dermochelys coriacea) et la tortue Verte (Chelonia mydas).
Les tortues marines sont migratrices. Elles parcourent les mers et les océans à la recherche de zones d’alimentation, de reproduction et de ponte. Cette diversité d’habitats qu’elles traversent ne fait qu’augmenter les risques et les menaces qui pèsent sur elles.
Depuis 2012, l’association Marineland mène le programme de conservation ObsTortueMed, Observation des Tortues Marines en Méditerranée. Au-delà d’un programme de surveillance sur le suivi des populations en mer au large des Alpes-Maritimes et du Var, ObsTortueMed permet d’améliorer les connaissances sur l’évolution de la structure des populations et sur l’identification des menaces propres à une région particulièrement impactée par l’activité humaine.

Naturascan a pour mission d’évaluer la présence et la répartition de la mégafaune marine au sein du site Natura 2000 « Baie et Cap d’Antibes- Iles de Lérins baie ». Une des caractéristiques de ce site est d’abriter dans son extension au large, des canyons atteignant plus de 1500 mètres de profondeur, propice à la présence des mammifères marins.

Depuis janvier 2020, l’Association Marineland, la ville d’Antibes et les Aquanautes se sont engagés pour faire vivre ce programme de suivi. Chaque mois, trois observateurs, un rapporteur et un pilote embarquent sur l’Haizea, le zodiac de l’Association Marineland. 50 km de transects linéaires, une surface d'étude de 72.5 km2, sont parcourus et les observations sont menées selon un protocole précis, à une vitesse lente de 6 nœuds.

Toutes les observations sont scrupuleusement relevées : en 2020, 15 % des observations concernent respectivement les dauphins bleu et blanc (Stenella coeruleoalba) et les poissons lune (Mola mola), 44% des observations concernent les oiseaux, le puffin boréal (Calonectris borealis), le puffin de Scopoli (Calonectris diomedea), la sterne pierregarin (Sterna hirundo), la sterne caugek (Thalasseus sandvicensis), le goéland (Larus michahellis), le fou de bassan (Morus bassanus), le flamant rose (Phoenicopterus roseus), sporadiquement des organismes gélatineux (Velella velella) et l’observation la plus remarquable reste celle de cette femelle cachalot et de son petit (Physeter macrocephalus).

Au travers de son programme de surveillance, les données d’observations de Naturascan viendront enrichir des études menées dans le cadre de la Directive Cadre Stratégie pour le Milieu Marin (DCSMM) coordonné par l’OFB.

En 2020, neuf sorties ont été réalisées, représentant plus de 300 km de prospection en effort, soit plus de 400km2 "scannées" avec un résultat de 41 observations.

Le programme Naturascan est reconduit en 2021. Le groupe d’observateurs-bénévoles s’agrandit et c’est près d’une trentaine de personnes qui s’engage dans ce suivi. La formation des observateurs est assurée. La zone de prospection s’agrandit également englobant la zone des îles de Lérins. Deux zones, deux protocoles de prospections, deux sorties distincts. C’est ainsi la quasi-totalité de la zone Natura 2000 qui est prospectée chaque mois (objectif fixé).

Billets en ligne dès

24,90 €