20€ off on SILVER, GOLD and PLATINIUM passes, only until November 25th 2022!

About Us (Our Story)

Over 50 years of passion for the marine world

Marineland was founded in 1970 by Count Roland de la Poype, a visionary industrialist, fighter pilot, World War II hero and marine enthusiast. He had a very specific mission: to pass on his passion for the marine world to a wide audience in order to help them discover this fascinating universe.

When it was first opened, Marineland covered 2 hectares and was home to two killer whales and several other marine mammals. One of the sources of pride for its creator is the natural seawater supply system. An innovative process for the time, this technical installation draws seawater to the site directly from the Mediterranean Sea. This system has now been developed to allow a connection with the sea that is 600 m offshore and 70 m deep. It provides an optimal seawater supply with a constant temperature and optimal water quality all year round.

 

 

Our-story
Our-story

The Shark Tunnel, a giant 30 m long immersive aquarium, was created in 1996 and one of the largest killer whale tanks in the world was built in 2000, featuring 5 interconnected tanks.

At the same time, and in partnership with many charities and scientific organisations, Marineland conducts research on cetaceans in the Mediterranean, including dolphin feeding, census and movement of cetaceans in relation to environmental settings, acoustic monitoring of cetaceans, etc. This also lead, for example, to the creation in 1999 of the Pelagos Sanctuary, a protected maritime area between France, Monaco and Italy.

The Marineland Foundation was established in 2011. It then became the Marineland Association with the objectives of developing, promoting and encouraging the conservation of animal species and raising awareness amongst the general public about the marine environment.

The initial visionary spirit – to pass on a passion for the marine world – still drives Marineland and allows its thousands of visitors to enjoy unforgettable experiences while becoming more aware of issues relating to the protection of marine wildlife through our animal presentations – which are constantly updated – educational activities, animal encounters (killer whales, dolphins, sea lions, sharks), as well as the VIP Visits in which they can discover the zoo's backstage areas. 

These unique opportunities help them to learn more about these exceptional animals (their anatomy, lifestyle, reproduction, conservation, biodiversity, threats to habitats, etc.) and become more aware of the major challenges facing the marine world.

 

Watch a video that traces Marineland's history

Watch a video that traces Marineland's history:

Online ticket from

€24,90

newsletter highlight Parque Warner Madrid

Subscribe to our newsletter

News, births, new developments, special offers and promotions... Subscribe now to find out all about Marineland!

Cumplimos con todas las medidas contra el Covid-19. Consulta nuestro plan completo para que, entre todos, hagamos del parque un lugar seguro. Ver detalles

À propos de nous (Notre histoire)

Plus de 50 années de passion pour le monde marin

Marineland a été créé en 1970 par le Comte Roland de la Poype, un industriel visionnaire, pilote de chasse, héros de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et passionné du monde marin. Il se dote d’une mission très précise : transmettre sa passion pour le monde marin à un large public afin de lui faire découvrir cet univers fascinant.

À sa création, Marineland s’étend sur 2 hectares et accueille deux orques et plusieurs mammifères marins. L’une des sources de fierté de son créateur est le système d’alimentation en eau de mer naturelle. Procédé novateur pour l’époque, l’installation technique puise l’eau de mer directement en Méditerranée au large du site. Ce système a évolué jusqu’à permettre aujourd’hui une connexion avec la mer à 600 m au large, à 70 m de fond. Il permet une alimentation optimale en eau de mer avec une température constante et une qualité d’eau optimale tout au long de l’année.

 

 

our-history
our-history

Le tunnel des requins, un aquarium immersif géant de 30 m de long est créé en 1996 et en l’un des plus grands bassins au monde pour les orques est construit en 2000 avec 5 bassins interconnectés.

En parallèle, et en partenariat avec de nombreuses associations et organisations scientifiques, Marineland mène des recherches sur les cétacés en Méditerranée : alimentation des dauphins, recensement et déplacement des cétacés en relation avec les paramètres environnementaux, suivi acoustique des cétacés… qui aboutissent par exemple à la création en 1999 du sanctuaire Pelagos, un espace maritime protégé entre la France, Monaco et l’Italie. 

La fondation Marineland est créée en 2011. Elle deviendra ensuite l’Association Marineland avec toujours pour objectifs de développer, promouvoir et favoriser la conservation des espèces animales et la sensibilisation du grand public à l’environnement marin.

L’esprit initial et visionnaire – transmettre la passion pour le monde marin - anime toujours Marineland et permet à ses milliers de visiteurs de vivre des moments inoubliables tout en les sensibilisant à la protection des espèces marines grâce à des présentations animalières –constamment renouvelées - des animations pédagogiques, des rencontres avec les animaux (orques, dauphins, otaries, requins) ou encore la visite privilège, de découverte des coulisses du zoo. 

Ces moments uniques permettent de mieux connaître ces animaux d’exception (anatomie, modes de vie, reproduction, conservation, biodiversité, menaces sur les habitats et de prendre conscience des enjeux majeurs qui pèsent sur le monde marin).

 

Découvrez cette vidéo qui retrace l'histoire de Marineland

Découvrez cette vidéo, qui retrace l’histoire de Marineland :

Billet adulte / jour

24,90 €

newsletter highlight Parque Warner Madrid

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter

Actualités, naissances, nouveautés, bons plans et promos… Abonnez-vous et vous saurez tout sur Marineland !