20€ off on SILVER, GOLD and PLATINIUM passes, only until November 25th 2022!

King Penguin

Theme area:  Antarctica
Scientific name:  Aptenodytes patagonicus
Class:  Birds
Order:   Sphenisciformes - Penguins
Family:   Spheniscidae
Continent:  Antarctica
Habitat:  Flat beaches
Diet:  Piscivore
Weight:  9 - 15 kg
Size:  85 - 95 cm
altphoto altphoto altphoto
Covid Info
European Ex-situ Programme (EEP)

European Ex-situ Programme (EEP)

The King penguin is the second largest of the 18 penguin species in the world, the first being the Emperor Penguin.  There is no real sexual dimorphism between males and females.

FEATURES

The King penguin is the second largest of the 18 penguin species in the world, the first being the Emperor Penguin.  There is no real sexual dimorphism between males and females.  King penguins measure between 85 and 95 cm and weigh between 9 and 15 kg. They reach sexual maturity between 5 and 7 years old.  Their longevity is 15 to 20 years.

  

DISTRIBUTION

King penguins live on the coasts of the sub-Antarctic islands as well as on the southern coast of Argentina during the winter months.

As a result of its presence in the Kerguelen and Crozet islands, the King penguin is included in France's wildlife.

  

HABITAT

The King penguin goes ashore to mate, raise its young and moult.  It chooses flat beaches that are free of snow and ice. When it returns to the sea after the breeding season, it is pelagic, i.e. it lives in the open sea.

  

ECOLOGY AND BEHAVIOUR

King penguins are gregarious and gather in colonies by the thousands.  They moult just before the breeding season allowing them to don attractive plumage for courtship. A single egg is laid in the spring (between November and March).  King penguins do not make a nest, the egg is incubated on their feet, beneath a fold of skin from their belly.  Incubation lasts between 52 and 56 days.  The father and mother alternate every 20 days or so, giving the non-brooding parent the opportunity to feed. The chick hatches during the winter (between May and August). It is covered with a thick brown down. The young chick is fed by the parent who returns from fishing, regurgitating some of the fish it has caught.

When the chick is a few months old, the parents both go out to sea, further and longer.  The chick will then fast for 4 months.  It is then that it joins the other chicks in a nursery. When the parents return, they find their offspring through vocalisations. They feed them until they moult at around 13 months of age, at which point they are weaned.

King penguins have the longest breeding cycle of any penguin (between 14 and 16 months). They can therefore only give birth to 2 chicks in three years.  King penguins are not faithful and usually change partners each mating season.

 

FOOD

King penguins only feed in the open sea, diving between 70 and 200 m deep.   They feed on fish and cephalopods.  They capture their prey by chasing them at speeds of up to 12 km/h.

   

THREATS

The King penguin has been through some tough times. On certain sub-Antarctic islands, at the beginning of the 20th century, the population was almost exterminated due to the harvesting of oil and feathers. The fishing industry had depleted the penguin's food supply.  Today, the population has returned to a non-critical size and continues to increase.

Populations are currently estimated at 2,000,000 individuals.

  

WHAT CAN WE DO?

As this species is not currently endangered, it is important to keep its habitat intact by minimising pollution, human disturbance and global warming.  Indeed, as the climate warms, prey distributes differently and may move away from the usual feeding points forcing the parents to feed further away and thus leaving the chicks to fast for even longer which would reduce their chances of survival.

 

PRESENTATIONS AND ENCOUNTERS

Conservation
Extinct
Extinct in the wild
Critically endangered
Endangered
Vulnerable
Near threatened
Least concern
Insufficient data
Not evaluated

Cumplimos con todas las medidas contra el Covid-19. Consulta nuestro plan completo para que, entre todos, hagamos del parque un lugar seguro. Ver detalles

Manchot Royal

Zone thématique:  Antarctica
Nom scientifique:  Aptenodytes patagonicus
Classe:  Oiseaux
Continent:  Antarctique
Habitat:  Plages plates
Alimentation:  Piscivore
Poids:  9 - 15 kg
Taille:  85 - 95 cm
altphoto altphoto altphoto
European Ex-situ Program (EEP)

European Ex-situ Program (EEP)

Le manchot royal est le deuxième plus grand manchot parmi les 18 espèces de manchots au monde, le premier étant le manchot empereur.  Il n’existe pas vraiment de dimorphisme sexuel entre les mâles et les femelles. 

 

CARACTÉRISTIQUES

Le manchot royal est le deuxième plus grand manchot parmi les 18 espèces de manchots au monde, le premier étant le manchot empereur.  Il n’existe pas vraiment de dimorphisme sexuel entre les mâles et les femelles.  Le manchot royal mesure entre 85 et 95cm et pèse entre 9 et 15kg. Il atteint la maturité sexuelle entre 5 et 7 ans.  Leur longévité est de 15 à 20 ans.

DISTRIBUTION

Les manchots royaux vivent sur les côtes des îles subantarctiques ainsi que sur la côte sud de l’Argentine pendant les mois d’hiver.

De par sa présence dans les îles Kerguelen et Crozet, le manchot royal fait partie de la faune française.

HABITAT

Le manchot royal rejoint la terre ferme pour s’accoupler, élever son petit et muer.  Il choisit des plages plates, libres de neige ou de glace. Lorsqu’il retourne en mer en dehors de la saison de reproduction, il est pélagique c’est-à-dire qu’il vit en pleine mer.

ECOLOGIE ET COMPORTEMENT

Les manchots royaux sont grégaires, ils se rassemblent en colonies par milliers.  Ils muent juste avant la saison des amours permettant aux manchots de revêtir un plumage attrayant pour les parades. Un seul œuf est pondu au printemps (entre novembre et mars).  Les manchots royaux ne font pas de nid, l’œuf est couvé sur les pieds et sous un repli de peau du ventre.  L’incubation dure entre 52 et 56 jours.  Le père et la mère alternent tous les 20 jours à peu près donnant l’occasion au parent qui ne couve pas d’aller s’alimenter. Le poussin éclot pendant l’hiver (entre mai et août).  Il est couvert d’un épais duvet brun.  Le jeune poussin est nourri par le parent qui revient de la pêche en régurgitant une partie du poisson qu’il a pêché.

Quand le poussin a quelques mois, les parents partent en mer tous les deux, plus loin et plus longtemps.  Le poussin va alors jeûner pendant 4 mois.  C’est alors qu’il rejoint les autres poussins au sein d’une crèche. Quand les parents sont de retour, ils retrouvent leur petit grâce à des vocalises, ils le nourrissent jusqu’à sa mue vers l’âge de 13 mois, âge auquel il est sevré.

Les manchots royaux ont le plus long cycle de reproduction des manchots (entre 14 et 16 mois).  Ils ne peuvent donc donner naissance qu’à 2 petits en trois ans.  Les manchots ne sont pas fidèles et changent généralement de partenaire à chaque saison des amours.

 

ALIMENTATION

Le manchot royal ne se nourrit qu’en pleine mer en plongeant entre 70 et 200 m de profondeur.   Il se nourrit de poissons et céphalopodes.  Il capture ses proies en les poursuivant à une vitesse allant jusqu’à 12km/h.

MENACES

Le manchot royal a connu des périodes difficiles. Sur certaines îles subantarctiques, au début du XXe siècle, la population fut quasiment exterminée suite à l’exploitation de l’huile et des plumes. L’industrie de la pêche avait fait baisser les stocks de nourriture de ce manchot.  Aujourd’hui, la population a retrouvé une taille non critique et elle continue à augmenter.

Sa population est estimée à 2.000.000 d’individus.

QUE POUVONS-NOUS FAIRE ?

Cet animal n’étant pas menacé actuellement, il est important de maintenir son habitat intact en réduisant au maximum la pollution, la perturbation par l’homme et le réchauffement climatique.  En effet, lorsque le climat se réchauffe, les proies se répartissent différemment et peuvent s’éloigner des points de nourrissage habituels obligeant les parents à aller s’alimenter plus loin et donc à laisser le poussin jeûner encore plus longtemps ce qui réduirait ses chances de survie.

 

REPRÉSENTATIONS OU RENCONTRES

Préservation
Éteinte
Éteint à l'état sauvage
Danger critique
En danger
Vulnérable
Quasi menacée
Préoccupation mineure
Données insuffisantes
Non classé
Mesures sanitaires. Visitez Marineland en toute sécurité.

Mesures sanitaires. Visitez Marineland en toute sécurité.

Billet adulte / jour

24,90 €