20€ off on SILVER, GOLD and PLATINIUM passes, only until November 25th 2022!

Bottlenose dolphin

Theme area:  Dolphin Island and Lagoon
Scientific name:  Tursiops truncatus
Class:  Mammals
Order:   Cetaceans
Suborder:   Odontocetes
Family:   Delphinidae
Continent:  All oceans
Habitat:  Coastal and/or pelagic habitats
Diet:  Piscivore
Weight:  180 - 650 kg
Size:  1.9 - 3.8 m
altphoto altphoto altphoto altphoto altphoto altphoto
European Ex-situ Programme (EEP)

European Ex-situ Programme (EEP)

Naturascan

Naturascan

FEATURES

Sexual dimorphism is not very pronounced in the Bottlenose dolphin.  Males and females vary greatly depending on the region of the globe.  They measure between 1.9 and 3.8 m and weigh between 180 and 650 kg.  Females are mature between 6 and 13 years old. For males, it is between 9 and 13 years old.

At birth, the calf measures 1 to 1.3 m. and weighs 20 kg.  Lactation lasts between 1.5 and 2 years, although it can last longer if the female is not expecting another calf.

Lifespan: this depends greatly on each population. Some populations live only 17 years on average, others a little more.  We can therefore say 20 years on average, with some animals exceeding 35 years in lifespan.

Amongst the 36 species of dolphins, it is the species that is most known to the general public because of its frequent presence in marine parks.

 

DISTRIBUTION

The bottlenose dolphin is found in almost all of the world's seas, with the exception of the polar regions.

 

HABITAT

There are two ecotypes that are found in different habitats. One lives mainly on the continental slope and coasts.  It is the most studied and well-known ecotype due to its proximity to humans.  The other is pelagic, it lives in the open sea.

  

ECOLOGY AND BEHAVIOUR

The Bottlenose dolphin is cosmopolitan and opportunistic. It therefore adapts its behaviour to its environment.  It lives in fission-fusion type social structures.  The community is made up of sub-groups which associate and dissociate according to environmental conditions and the time of year.  The size of the group depends on the density of predators and prey. The group will be large if there is a high density of predators and/or prey. On the other hand, if there are few predators and prey, the group will be smaller.  There is no real reproductive period.  Gestation lasts one year.  Certain mother/calf associations or alliances between males can last for many years.

  

FOOD

The Bottlenose dolphin is opportunistic.  It feeds mainly on fish and cephalopods. Most of its prey does not exceed 30 cm in length, as this dolphin does not chew its prey. Once caught, the prey is swallowed whole using its aproximately 80 identical cone-shaped teeth.

The way they hunt varies according to where they live and ranges from solitary hunting to complex techniques that are passed on from generation to generation like a culture, such as gathering the bench of fish, pushing the prey onto the muddy banks of a river, following trawlers and taking the shrimps or fish caught in the nets.

  

THREATS

Bottlenose dolphins fall victim to accidental entanglement in fishing nets, overfishing, competition with fishermen, pollution and habitat degradation.

  

WHAT CAN WE DO?

Consume fish from ecologically responsible fishing.

Reduce sources of pollution and destruction of the natural environment.

  

PRESENTATIONS AND ENCOUNTERS

Conservation
Extinct
Extinct in the wild
Critically endangered
Endangered
Vulnerable
Near threatened
Least concern
Insufficient data
Not evaluated

DID YOU KNOW?

In humans, breathing is managed by the cerebellum, which makes breathing unconscious. In the dolphin, like all cetaceans, breathing is managed at the level of the brain, which makes breathing conscious.

Online ticket from

€24,90

Grand Dauphin

Zone thématique:  Ile aux dauphins et lagon
Nom scientifique:  Tursiops truncatus
Classe:  Mammifères
Ordre:   Cétacés
Sous-ordre:   Odontocètes
Famille:   Delphinidés
Continent:  Tous les océans
Habitat:  Habitats côtiers et/ou pélagiques
Alimentation:  Piscivore
Poids:  180 - 650 kg
Taille:  1.9 - 3.8 m
altphoto altphoto altphoto altphoto altphoto altphoto

CARACTÉRISTIQUES

Le dimorphisme sexuel chez le dauphin souffleur est peu marqué.  Le mâle et la femelle varient énormément en fonction des régions du globe.  Ils mesurent entre 1.9 et 3.8m et pèsent entre 180 et 650kg.  La femelle est mature entre 6 et 13 ans. Le mâle, entre 9 et 13 ans.

A la naissance, le petit mesure de 1 à 1.3 m. pour 20kg.  L’’allaitement dure entre 1.5 et 2 ans bien qu’il puisse durer plus longtemps si la femelle n’attend pas un autre petit.

Longévité : cela dépend énormément de chaque population. Certaines populations ne vivent que 17 ans en moyenne d’autres un peu plus.  On peut donc dire 20 ans en moyenne avec certains animaux qui peuvent dépasser les 35 ans de longévité.

Parmi les 36 espèces de dauphins, c’est l’espèce la plus connue du grand public de par sa présence fréquente dans les parcs marins.

DISTRIBUTION

Le grand dauphin est présent dans quasiment toutes les mers du monde à l’exception des zones polaires.

 

HABITAT

Il existe deux écotypes exploitant des habitats différents. L’un exploite principalement le talus continental et les côtes.  C’est l’écotype le plus étudié et connu de par sa proximité à l‘homme.  L’autre est pélagique, il vit en haute mer.

ECOLOGIE ET COMPORTEMENT

Le dauphin souffleur est cosmopolite et opportuniste. Il adapte donc son comportement à son milieu.  Il vit dans des structures sociales de type fission-fusion.  La communauté est constituée de sous-groupes qui s’associent et se dissocient en fonction des conditions environnementales et des périodes de l’année.  En effet, la taille du groupe dépend de la densité des prédateurs et des proies. Le groupe sera important s’il y a une forte densité de prédateurs et/ou de proies. A contrario, s’il y a peu de prédateurs et de proies, le groupe sera plus réduit.  Il n’y a pas vraiment de période de reproduction.  La gestation dure un an.  Certaines associations mère/petit ou certaines alliances entre mâles peuvent durer de nombreuses années.

ALIMENTATION

Le dauphin souffleur est opportuniste.  Il s’alimente principalement de poisson et de céphalopodes. La plus part des proies ne dépassent pas les 30 cm puisque ce dauphin ne mâche pas ses proies. Une fois attrapée grâce à +- 80 dents coniques et identiques, la proie est avalée tout rond.

Les types de chasse varient en fonction des lieux de vie et vont de la chasse solitaire à des techniques complexes qui se transmettent de générations en générations telle une culture : rassemblement du banc de poissons, pousser les proies sur les berges boueuses d’une rivière, suivre les chalutiers et prélever les crevettes ou poisson pris dans les filets.

MENACES

Le grand dauphin est victime de prises accidentelles dans les filets de pêche, de la surpêche, de la compétition avec les pêcheurs, de la pollution, de la dégradation de son habitat.

QUE POUVONS-NOUS FAIRE ?

Consommer du poisson issu de pêche écoresponsable.

Réduire les sources de pollution et la destruction du milieu naturel.

REPRÉSENTATIONS OU RENCONTRES

Préservation
Éteinte
Éteinte à l'état sauvage
Danger critique
En danger
Vulnérable
Quasi menacée
Préoccupation mineure
Données insuffisantes
Non classé

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

Chez les humains, la respiration est gérée par le cervelet ce qui rend la respiration inconsciente. Chez le dauphin, comme tous les cétacés, la respiration est gérée au niveau du cerveau ce qui rend la respiration consciente.
European Ex-situ Program (EEP)

European Ex-situ Program (EEP)

Naturascan

Naturascan

Billets en ligne dès

24,90 €