20€ off on SILVER, GOLD and PLATINIUM passes, only until November 25th 2022!

Killer Whale

Theme area:  Orca Fjord
Scientific name:  Orcinus orca
Class:  Mammals
Order:   Cetaceans
Suborder:   Odontocetes
Family:   Delphinidae
Continent:  All oceans
Habitat:  Coastal and/or pelagic habitats
Diet:  Piscivore
Weight:  5 - 8 tons
Size:  6 - 8 m
altphoto altphoto altphoto altphoto

FEATURES

This is, along with the pilot whale, one of the only dolphin species to show significant sexual dimorphism. As an adult, the male has very large fins, including the dorsal fin, which can be up to 2 m high.  The dorsal part of the latter is straight compared to that of the female which is sickle-shaped.  Sexual maturity is reached at around 7 years old in females and 10 years old in males.  At birth, the calf measures approximately 2.5 m and weighs 120 to 160 kg.  Once they have passed their first 6 months, their longevity is estimated to be between 30 and 40 years depending on the region. However, mortality before 6 months is about 50%.

  

DISTRIBUTION

The killer whale is found in all the world's oceans and seas.  It can be seen from the equator to the poles.

  

HABITAT

It inhabits either coastal areas or areas rich in prey.

 

ECOLOGY AND BEHAVIOUR

The Killer Whale is a gregarious animal. The group may consist of only a few individuals or as many as several dozen. Social bonds are very strong between individuals in a group, especially between mothers and their young. A hierarchy is clearly established in the group through different behaviours (biting, jaw slamming, tail fin slamming, head butting, etc.). The basic structure is matriarchal, with the females guiding and managing the group. It is probably because of their importance in the group that female Killer Whales may exhibit menopause, which is the case for few species.

Despite these common characteristics, Killer Whales behave very differently depending on where they live; they have a culture that they pass on from generation to generation. There are 10 ecotypes (sub-species) whose lifestyles can be very different.

  

FOOD

At the top of the food chain, Killer Whales have no natural enemies. Their diet consists mainly of fish (including rays and sharks), penguins and other marine mammals (sea lions, seals, porpoises, whales, dolphins). The proportions of these prey in their diet as well as the hunting techniques used vary according to the respective populations. It is one of the few species that passes on its knowledge to the next generation. In Antarctica, they coordinate their movements to create a wave that can cause Weddell seals to slip off their ice islands. In Patagonia, scientists have observed female Killer Whales instructing groups of young whales to voluntarily strand themselves in order to hunt baby sea lions. This training can last up to 20 years!

Equipped, like all dolphins, with sonar, they are able to locate their prey more easily. However, aware that these sounds can be picked up by their prey, they do not use them when hunting mammals that could detect their presence and escape.

  

THREATS

Decline in fish stocks:

The decline in food resources caused by overfishing and the breakdown of their habitat is one of the greatest threats faced by Killer whales. The populations resident in the north, specialising in salmon hunting, are the most affected.

Chemical contamination:

As Killer whales are at the top of the food chain, they ingest chemicals (particularly PCBs) accumulated in the tissues of their prey. Populations feeding on large prey such as marine mammals appear to be more affected than others. Newborns suffer greatly from this bioaccumulation as a very large proportion of the accumulated contaminants are excreted through breast milk. It is estimated that 90% of the pollutants are passed on to the 1st baby which greatly increases the risk of mortality. 

   

WHAT CAN WE DO?

Eat fish from eco-responsible fishing.

Decrease pesticide use.

  

PRESENTATIONS AND ENCOUNTERS

Conservation
Extinct
Extinct in the wild
Critically endangered
Endangered
Vulnerable
Near threatened
Least concern
Insufficient data
Not evaluated

DID YOU KNOW?

In British Columbia, it has been reported that each Killer Whale family has its own accent. Only Killer Whales with different accents mate. An effective way to avoid in-breeding!

Online ticket from

€24,90

Cumplimos con todas las medidas contra el Covid-19. Consulta nuestro plan completo para que, entre todos, hagamos del parque un lugar seguro. Ver detalles

Orque

Zone thématique:  Fjord des orques
Nom scientifique:  Orcinus orca
Classe:  Mammifères
Ordre:   Cétacés
Sous-ordre:   Odontocètes
Famille:   Delphinidés
Continent:  Tous les océans
Habitat:  Habitats côtiers et/ou pélagiques
Alimentation:  Piscivore
Poids:  5 - 8 tons
Taille:  6 - 8 m
altphoto altphoto altphoto altphoto

CARACTÉRISTIQUES

C’est avec le globicéphale, une des seules espèces de dauphins à montrer un dimorphisme sexuel important. Une fois adulte, le mâle arbore d’énormes nageoires dont la nageoire dorsale qui peut atteindre 2 m de haut.  La partie dorsale de celle-ci est rectiligne comparée à celle de la femelle qui est en forme de faucille.  La maturité sexuelle est atteinte vers 7 ans chez la femelle et 10 ans chez le mâle.  A la naissance le petit mesure environs 2.5m pour 120 à 160kg.  Une fois qu’ils ont dépassé le cap des 6 premiers mois, leur longévité est estimée entre 30 et 40 ans selon les régions. En effet, la mortalité avant 6 mois est d’à peu près 50%.

DISTRIBUTION

L’orque est présente dans tous les océans et mers du monde.  Elle s’observe de l’équateur jusqu’aux pôles.

HABITAT

Elle exploite soit les zones côtières soit les zones riches en proies.

ECOLOGIE ET COMPORTEMENT

L’orque est un animal grégaire. Le groupe peut être constitué de quelques individus seulement comme de plusieurs dizaines d’individus. Les liens sociaux sont très forts entre les individus d’un groupe notamment entre la mère et ses petits. Une hiérarchie est clairement établie dans le groupe de part différents comportements (morsures, claquement mâchoire, claquement nageoire caudale, coup de tête…). La structure de base est matriarcale, ce sont les femelles qui guident et gèrent le groupe. C’est probablement en raison de leur importance dans le groupe que les femelles orques peuvent présenter une ménopause, ce qui est le cas de peu d’espèces.

Malgré ces caractéristiques communes, les orques ont des comportements très différents selon l’endroit où elles vivent ; elles ont une culture qu’elles se transmettent de génération en génération. Il existe 10 écotypes (sous-espèces) dont les modes de vie peuvent être très éloignés.

ALIMENTATION

Au sommet de la chaîne alimentaire, les orques ne connaissent aucun ennemi naturel. Leur alimentation est essentiellement constituée de poissons (y compris raies et requins), de manchots et d’autres mammifères marins (otaries, phoques, marsouins, baleines, dauphins). Les proportions de ces proies dans leur régime alimentaire ainsi que les techniques de chasse employées varient en fonction des populations. C’est d’ailleurs l’une des rares espèces qui transmet son savoir aux générations suivantes. En Antarctique, elles coordonnent leurs mouvements afin de créer une vague qui fait glisser les phoques de Weddell de leurs ilots de glace. En Patagonie, des scientifiques ont observé des orques femelles enseigner l’échouage volontaire à des groupes de jeunes orques afin de chasser de jeunes lions de mer. Cet apprentissage peut durer 20 ans !

Pourvues, comme tous les dauphins, d’un sonar, elles repèrent leurs proies plus facilement. Cependant, conscientes du fait que ces sons émis puissent être perçus par leurs proies, elles ne l’utilisent pas lors de la chasse de mammifères qui pourraient ainsi détecter leur présence et leur échapper.

MENACES

Chute des stocks de poissons :

La baisse des ressources alimentaires causée par la surpêche et la dégradation de leur habitat est l’une des plus grandes menaces rencontrées par les orques. Les populations résidentes du nord, spécialisées dans la chasse du saumon sont les plus touchées.

Contamination chimique :

Les orques étant en haut de la chaîne alimentaire, elles ingèrent des produits chimiques (notamment du PCB) accumulés dans les tissus de leurs proies. Les populations se nourrissant de grandes proies telles que les mammifères marins semblent plus touchées que les autres. Les nouveau-nés souffrent grandement de cette bioaccumulation puisqu’une très grande partie des polluants accumulés sont éliminés par le lait maternel. On estime que 90% des polluants sont transmis au 1er bébé ce qui augmente considérablement les risques de mortalité. 

QUE POUVONS-NOUS FAIRE ?

Manger du poisson issu de la pêche éco-responsable

Diminuer l’utilisation de pesticides

REPRÉSENTATIONS OU RENCONTRES

Préservation
Éteinte
Éteint à l'état sauvage
Danger critique
En danger
Vulnérable
Quasi menacée
Préoccupation mineure
Données insuffisantes
Non classé

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?

En Colombie britannique, il a été observé que chaque famille d’orques a son propre accent. Seules les orques aux accents différents s’accouplent. Une manière efficace d’éviter la consanguinité !

Billets en ligne dès

24,90 €