Cumplimos con todas las medidas contra el Covid-19. Consulta nuestro plan completo para que, entre todos, hagamos del parque un lugar seguro. Ver detalles

Antarctica

Put on your hat, the Antarctic penguins are waiting for you!

Beware, polar climate! With a temperature of below 10 degrees, Antarctica is an area located at the entrance of the Marineland Côte d'Azur Animal Park that replicates the specific conditions that penguins need. There, you can watch around 40 King and Rockhopper Penguins at close quarters. While they move with grace and agility underwater, on land their gait is rather clumsy and endearing.

 

How can you tell them apart? The Southern Rockhopper Penguin gets its name from the fact that it moves in small jumps.  Its large black head has characteristic feathering giving it a startled look and its plumage is black on the back and white on the belly. This gregarious bird lives in large colonies and shares these with other seabird species. The King Penguin is more colourful with its orange spots and also taller, measuring 85 to 95 cm. Of the 18 species of penguins in the world, it is, in fact, the second largest, after the Emperor Penguin.

The Lagoon
The Lagoon

 

 

King Penguins only feed in the open sea, diving between 70 and 200 m deep and capturing their prey by chasing them at speeds of up to 12 km/h. Did you know that a large part of our colony was born in Marineland itself or that these polar creatures live on the Kerguelen and Crozet islands, i.e. in French territory?

 

Marineland's animal teams feed the penguin colony every day during educational presentations, so come and see them eat! But you are also welcome to visit Antarctica whenever you like and take advantage of the many educational panels to learn more about these funny birds so loved by children, as well as learning the difference in French between "manchots"... and "pingouins"! 

 

Online ticket from

€24,90

ALERTE VENTS VIOLENTS: le zoo sera fermé ce jour pour vigilance jaune vents violents. Merci de votre compréhension.

Antarctica

Enfilez votre bonnet, les manchots d’Antarctique vous attendent!

Attention ambiance polaire ! Avec sa température inférieure à 10 degrés, Antarctica est un espace situé à l’entrée du Zoo Marineland Côte d’Azur, qui reproduit les conditions spécifiques dont les manchots ont besoin. Vous observerez de près une quarantaine de Manchots Royaux et Gorfous Sauteurs. S’ils évoluent avec grâce et agilité sous l’eau, sur terre leur démarche est plutôt maladroite et attendrissante.

 

Comment les distinguer ? Le gorfou sauteur tire son nom du fait qu’il se déplace par petits bonds.  Sa tête noire et massive présente des plumetis caractéristiques lui donnant un air étonné, et son plumage est noir sur le dos et blanc sur le ventre. Cet oiseau grégaire vit en grandes colonies et partage celles-ci avec d’autres espèces d’oiseaux marins. Le Manchot Royal est plus coloré avec ses tâches orange, et aussi plus grand, il mesure 85 à 95 cm. Parmi les 18 espèces de manchots au monde, il s’agit même du deuxième plus grand manchot, après le manchot empereur.

le lagoon
le lagoon

 

 

Le Manchot Royal ne se nourrit qu’en pleine mer en plongeant entre 70 et 200 m de profondeur et capture ses proies en les poursuivant à une vitesse allant jusqu’à 12km/h. Savez-vous qu’une grande partie de la colonie est née à Marineland même, et que ces espèces polaires vivent sur les îles Kerguelen et Crozet, c’est-à-dire sur le territoire français ?

 

Les équipes animalières de Marineland nourrissent chaque jour la colonie de manchots lors des animations pédagogiques, venez donc assister à leur repas ! Mais vous pouvez également visiter librement Antarctica quand bon vous semble, et profiter des nombreux panneaux ludo-pédagogiques pour en apprendre toujours plus sur ces drôles d’oiseaux tant aimés des enfants, et retenir enfin la différence entre les manchots… et les pingouins ! 

 

Billets en ligne dès

24,90 €